Charismatic Slavery to the Flesh

The Grace of God

In this post, I will attempt to explain why I try to lead people away from ministries that encourage being emotionally-led or seeking after titillating experiences (almost all charismatic movements, including IHOP.) It is not because I am a cessationist (I’m not.)

First, a little personal history.

As an unbeliever, I had allowed myself to be emotionally-led into all kinds of sin. But I had also seen my father live an emotionally-led “Christian life.” He was no different from me except he had a stronger drive to go to church, and he dragged me along (and sometimes up front to have my demons cast out–which never seemed to work). We were both slaves of sin. One day he would turn over the dinner table in a rage over a meal he disliked, and the next day he would be called upon to pray in the sanctuary, his uplifted hands quaking…

View original post 1,670 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Charismatic Slavery to the Flesh

  1. SLIMJIM says:

    Wow, thank you for sharing this; I left a comment there too, for it touched a nerve and brought back so much memories of my young days as a Christian in the Charismatic crowd…it was so unstable spiritually and emotionally for me. God’s grace is good.

Leave a Reply

